top of page

Run down to Results Day

We must be greater than what we suffer

Dr Curtis Connors

With Results day around the corner I have been doing a lot of thinking. My mind has been racing with all of my academic fears, and all of my thoughts about the future, which seems so uncertain at this point in time. Not knowing what grades I actually got is killing me, but part of me never wants to know for I know the reality will be far worse than the dream. If only we could live forever in our dreams, they are far more pleasant than actual life and therefore much more bearable.

Recently, I have managed to secure my first job at my local theatre, which is perhaps a dream come true, as not many people can say their first job is something they actually enjoy. Getting a job is good at the end of Year 11, because it serves as a distraction from results day, keeping you active and out of the house whilst also earning you a bit of money. If you can't get a job, because it is hard believe me I got very lucky securing mine, then you could always try a volunteering programme over the summer, many places such as Hospitals, Libraries, and Retirement Homes offer such programmes.

It feels like I have wasted the past year. Like, I have put in all of this time and effort studying and none of it mattered. I feel so much regret, wishing I did more, appreciated the time I had with my friends, the dull routines of class and doing the same thing over and over until it was right. I wish I took a few more risks, made a few things more worthwhile, and realised how good I had it before it was all gone. My advice to those of starting Year 11 is to make every second count, because one day those seconds will run out, and it is all over before you know it.

Exams were over a month ago now, but they still feel like yesterday, haunting me, reminding me of all I have lost since school ended. After barely speaking to most of my friends since we broke up, I have been watching them enjoy their summer on various holidays and days out with family and with each other, whilst I am at home reading. Don't let that happen to you, don't let yourself get left behind, you have to fight and come out strong, not letting the cold waters of life drown you once the armbands have been taken away.

Fear. The Government has invoked a strong, unwavering, heart-wrenching, head-pounding amount of fear, that chokes students, bleeding them dry. If this is how they see how smart we are, how hard-working, how useful we are to them, then this is a cruel way of doing it. Things need to change. The system needs to change. Exams mean nothing. Numbers are nothing, no number can measure a persons value to this world. Don't give me no 9-1 crap, or Edexcel brilliance or AQA revolutions, for it means nothing at the end of the day. School teaches us nothing useful, nothing we actually need in life, and we can moan about how crappy it is all we like but nothing ever changes and it seems nothing ever will.

Results day is a month away. In the time from exams to now I have finally had the brain space to think, and to realise how messed up the entire system is. Yet, despite all of this, I don't want to fail. I don't want to let me friends, family, my teachers, or myself down. I have a reputation to live up to, self-invoked standards to maintain. You could say failure is not an option. But, again, does it really matter anyway?

To stop your brain from having a mind-implosion like mine above (a fine example I know) then follow my top five Run Up to Results Day Tips to keep yourself sane.

TOP FIVE RUN UP TO RESULTS DAY TIPS

1. Get a Job or do some Volunteer Work

It is important to keep yourself busy during the run up to results day. Stops your brain from panicking, causing a lot of un-needed stress. Plus, what's wrong with getting a bit of extra cash?

2. Hang out with your friends

Your friends have been through the exact same thing, You are all in the same boat, and you can keep each other occupied and distracted from the big day together whilst also catching up and having fun.

3. Spend time with family

Everyone needs moral support and family are the most reliable moral support out there. Watch a movie, go on a family outing, whatever, at the end of the day blood is thicker than water.

4. Get a hobby

Whether it be collecting stamps, reading, or taking photos down at your local park, a hobby is perfect when it comes to keeping you distracted and entertained in the run up to results day.

5. Plan. Be realistic.

Perhaps the best way to keep your mind at rest is to explore all the different possibilities. Think about what you would do it you passed everything you wanted to, how will you celebrate? If things do go horribly wrong, how will you celebrate trying? How will you bounce back? How will you start sorting out school, and supplies? Maybe start buying yourself all your new stationary, outfits, and other supplies to get you excited for the new school year?

Whatever happens on results day, you should always and forever be proud, because you know in your heart that you tried your best, and that is all you could have done.


bottom of page