top of page

The final farewell. Prom night.


Ever since I was little I could not wait to start high school. I was under the illusion that it was going to be like High School Musical, that I would have great friends, a cute boyfriend, and I would be in all the school productions. None of that actually happened, and yes it does suck, but life is not a movie, nor is it a musical.

Prom night was everything I hoped it would be but in some ways it can never meet the fairy tale expectations we all crave. The venue was gorgeous and everyone looked stunning in their outfits. It was hosted in a marquee tent located on the grounds of a fancy manor house that serves as a hotel in my local town. We had access to a walled garden, which was beautiful in so many ways. The flowers were in full bloom, and there were arched benches surrounded by flowers along the walls. During several occasions I would have a walk outside, most of the time with friends. One time me and a male friend of mine had a walk through the flowers, each holding a drink, just talking about anything really. It felt so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle that was going on inside, and to admire the venue, for we knew we will never have the privilege to be in such a place again.

When we first arrived, everyone was taking photos in the car park. I didn't want my Dad to have to trail after me for ages, so he took a few photos of me and some friends before getting a lift back home. My entire year group looked amazing, everyone's outfits were truly breathtaking. I have to say, I thought quite a few of the boys looked very sexy in their suits, and I did get some photos with them as well. I myself got many compliments, and people were surprised by my confidence on the dance floor. I suppose no body expects me of all people to dance, I am known to be very serious and mature after all. This is an event that only comes around once, and I was not going to waste a second of it. Which is why I made it my mission to get a photo with a particular boy, a guy I have liked for while and get really nervous around sometimes. However, as if luck wished it, one of his friends called me over to where they were posing for photos, and got me to have some photos with them. I got several, and will cherish them forever along with all the photos of me and the girls. There is no reason to be nervous or awkward anymore, the school year is over, we are all adults here, and we have all grown up in so many ways.

Prom night taught me a lot about myself. It taught me that I love to dance, that I love a party, and that I will severely miss everyone in my year, even the people I don't really like. You never realise you have a good thing until it is gone. What Prom, and this school year in general has shown me is that every second counts. Don't be afraid to talk to people, try new things and take a few risks. We really do only live once, and times flies by so fast. I regret not acting on my feelings sooner, but I am glad that in the end I stepped up and took a few leaps. If your scared about being embarrassed, then just know that once you finish school, you will most likely never see or speak to these people again.

I made the most of my night, and I saw the people I love at their best for perhaps the last time. Separating is hard, but in the end we will forget, and we will move on. We will meet new people and make new memories. So, yes, this was not perhaps the most perfect high school experience, and it was nothing like High School musical, but it was raw, it was real, and it was mine. No one can take this time away from me, and I will always have the memories to remember it by. We are all in this together, and I realised that on Prom night. We went through the same thing, and together we got through it. Exams did not beat us, and we have the rest of our lives to look forward to. I just want to say thank you, to the class of 2018.

bottom of page