top of page

Motivation. Where for art thou motivation...


Eat. Sleep. Study. Repeat.

Anonymous.

For the last year I have had the pleasure of experiencing first hand the joy of GCSE exam year. Unlike the majority of my peers, I have managed to maintain a solid amount of motivation throughout the year. Call me naturally motivated if you will, but the sole want and need to succeed, and not fail any of my exams, kept me going throughout the year. Some of my friends envy this 'natural motivation' and were constantly amazed by my work ethic, heck I often surprised myself. However, there is a fine line between hardworking and over-working. A line which I crossed on several occasions, to a point in which I almost drove myself insane, and made myself completely and utterly miserable.

Exams are hard, and yes, they are important, but it never should take over completely so that your life is surrounded 24/7 by school work. This is not only bad for your mental health, but will achieve nothing when it comes to your academics. Nothing will sink in working till midnight, and nothing will keep you awake in all your actual classes after you exhausted yourself the night before.

The reason why I am so naturally motivated is the fear of failure. I put a lot of pressure on myself, and I feel like people expect me to do well in my exams because people think I'm smart. This may not be the case, but it is the reason why I managed to study throughout the previous summer holidays, and continuously as the school year developed. I suppose you could say my love for education and learning also had a key role to play. For subjects like History and Drama, I enjoyed studying, and found it really interesting and fun. The opposite can be said for Maths and Science. A lot of my friends struggled to find the motivation to study, and the majority of them just didn't bother at all. Personally, I don't understand how someone can do literally nothing and then have the audacity to complain about how they are going to fail, and ask for my help, to which I promptly refuse of course.

You need to believe you can do it. You need to have faith in yourself, and know in your heart that you will do your best, and that is all that matters. As long as you try, there is no reason as to why you should fail. Hard work does pay off in the end, and yes, life is cruel and extremely unfair sometimes, but know that everything in life happens for a reason. To help all those struggling to find the motivation to work for their dreams, here are my Top 5 Motivation tips...

TOP 5 MOTIVATION TIPS

1. Imagine the end results

We are all dreading results day, the fear of the worst results possible looming over our heads. However, try imagining yourself at results day, opening your envelope and reading your results. You have got all the grades you want and you burst out crying out of pure relief and happiness. Thinking of the end in this positive way will help you want to try harder to achieve your goals and to make this dream a reality.

2. Think realistically

No matter how amazing it would be to get all A*'s in your exams, you must think realistically. You know your limits and your abilities. Having the right, realistic mindset will help you all the more in your revision, as you know exactly what you need to do for each subject to help you the best way possible.

3. Revision YouTubers

This is a big one for me. Revision YouTubers are amazing, and extremely motivational. Last summer I discovered channels such as Revision with Eve, Unjaded Jade, Ruby Granger, and Jack Edwards. Not only do they have really useful revision tips and advice, but their study with me's are really motivating to watch. I would watch some in the morning during breakfast, and then I would feel motivated and ready to go straight to my revision once my bowl was empty.

4. Have an organised study space

If you have a messy desk, surrounded by mounds of paper and rubbish you are not going to want to sit at it for long periods of time working. Ensuring you have an organised study space is important, and will not only aid in your revision, but will help motivate you to work more.

5. Believe!

Self-motivation. Putting some pressure on yourself can be good, because then you have that want to work and need to succeed. You must believe in yourself and know in your heart that you can do this. The only thing holding you back from greatness and your full potential is YOU. Take some risks, make a few bad choices, but learn from them, and believe in your happily ever after.

Thank you for reading my Motivation tips, and I hope this helps some of you in desperate need for some self-belief and motivation. You can do it, and never let anyone tell you otherwise.

during the day


bottom of page