top of page

GCSE Exams Study Tips


We love. Hate. And forgive. This is the cycle of all human emotion.

Anomymous

Ah GCSE's. My true love and hate rolled neatly into one. Three years of preparation, one year of true hell, and now three months of bliss, where I have nothing to worry about.

Well that's a lie, I have a lot to worry about. Like Results day. Or getting a job. Or starting 6th form.

Yup.

During the last year of my life I have been working my ass off to try and get the best grades possible. I have spent the last year banning myself from addictive things, such as Netflix, and I have spent most of my free time studying. This is something I do not advise, for I nearly drove myself insane doing this much work. I put myself into a negative mindset, I felt very emotional, upset, and like a general failure. Yes, GCSE exams are important, and they can make or break your future, but YOU as a person must come first, which is something I did not follow. That is why I am here today, to give you the chance to do it right, and learn from my mistakes, so your final year of high school can be the best yet.

Don't get me wrong, I have had a truly amazing year. From the very beginning, I have had great friends, great subjects, great teachers, and a lot of fun ahead of me. Events such as my Drama school trip, my 16th birthday party, and Business dress day, are all key moments from this year that I can never forget. Seeing people in my year group dressed so smartly on business dress day made me feel so grown up, and I have to say that I thought a lot of the boys looked really cute in their suits. We took a lot of photos, and these photos I can keep with me forever, to look back on with a smile. Friends are important, but with all the stress and pressure I put on myself, I don't think I valued enough friendships enough, and for that I am sorry.

For all you Year 10's out there who have yet to start Year 11 then this is something key for you. Here is my:

TOP TEN GCSE REVISION TIPS

  1. Start early

Don't wait until you literally only have one month left before exams begin to start your revision. I did a lot of work over Summer, which I don't advise. But I do think you should try and go over a few basic bits over the holidays, and during the first few months of the school year make sure you make a lot of notes and revision materials after you have studied the topic in class, because this will help you remember it better.

2. Target your revision

I know its tempting, but don't study something you already know really well just to make yourself feel better. Make a list of everything you don't understand in a subject, and gradually make your way down this list during your revision sessions. After some time, you will really be able to start seeing the improvements.

3. Stick with what you love

Make sure you don't let your exams stop you from doing the stuff you love. I had the opportunity to be in the school musical, but I turned the offer down because I thought I needed to focus completely on my exams. Now, I know I would have managed fine doing both, and I regret not signing up. It is important to continue doing the stuff you love, as it helps reduce the stress and pressure you are put under. Exams should not take over your entire life.

4. Revise for your Mocks!

This is a big one. Make sure you revise for your mock exams, because these are just as important as the real thing. Not only will the good grades you get from the mocks give you a big motivational boost, but you will pick up great revision tips and ideas in the process. If you know what works and what doesn't by the time your actual exams roll around, you know exactly what you need to do to get you the best preparation possible.

5. Have a study area

I know not everyone will be able to do this one which I completely understand, but I still think it is important. Having a designated study area is essential, because it will help keep you and your revision as organised as possible. It will not only motivate you to study, but will serve as a reminder that you need to. Mine is a little make- shift desk, laden with pencil pots and folders, but you can decorate yours how you see fit.

6. Use YouTube

No, Thatcher Joe or Zoella cannot help you pass your GCSE exams, but others on YouTube can. During the last year I have discovered some truly amazing people, who have great revision channels. Primrose Kitten is great for science and maths videos, and Mr Bruff is splendid for English revision. Other channels such as Jack Edwards, Revision with Eve, Unjaded Jade, and Ruby Granger, are also extremely motivating and entertaining. They all have really effective revision tips and tricks, as well as several study with me's.

7. Plan like there's no tomorrow

If there is something I do a bit too well it's planning. I have the problem where I over-plan, which is usually where things go wrong. Planning is important, because it can lead to effective revision and learning. Knowing what you are doing and when will also help you slot in other important aspects of your life into your work. A Revision timetable is the best step forwards, and I strongly advise you make one.

8. Flash cards

Perhaps one of my favourite revision methods, flashcards are not only fun to make but also really effective. Majoritively, I made flashcards for History, and this really helped me learn key dates and information. What I do is I write a question on one side of the card, and write the answer on the other side. Going through your set is important, and you should do it regularly for the best results.

9. Use your teachers!

They are there for a reason. Luckily, I had very supportive teachers during my GCSE year, and I owe a lot of my final grades (whatever they may be) to them. Especially during exam season, your teachers are your greatest weapon, because you can go to them for advice and help. At my school, we didn't get a proper study leave, we had to come in for revision classes in between our exams, but I think this was effective. Don't be afraid to talk to your teachers for help, it is their job to help you, and there is no need to feel embarrassed.

10. Take a BREAK

I know it may seem hard, and a complete waste of time, but you need to take regular breaks during your revision sessions. Your brain cannot work for long periods of time without needing a rest, it gets tired and bored. Burning yourself out, and making yourself feel miserable is not the answer to success. Break it up into manageable chunks for the best outputs.

So, there we have it, my GCSE revision tips. I hope some of this was useful and that you are all revving to go and hit those books!

Good luck on your exams x


bottom of page